Tuesday 16 September 2014

Singapore Literature Prize

The Singapore Literature Prizes, awarded biennially, are open to Singaporean and Singapore-based writers whose works of fiction (novels or short stories), poetry, and non-fiction have been published in any of Singapore’s four official languages: English; Chinese; Malay; Tamil.

The shortlists for most of the twelve 2014 prizes have just been announced.  They are:

English Fiction

The Inlet by Claire Tham
Love, or Something Like Love by O Thiam Chin
As the Heart Bones Break by Audrey Chin
Ministry of Moral Panic by Amanda Lee Koe

Chinese Fiction

《丁香》流 Lai Yong Taw
《林高微型小说》林高(Lim Hung Chang aka Lin Gao
《金色的袋鼠》尤今(Tham Yew Chin aka You Jin
《双城之恋》李选楼(Lee Xuan Lou

Malay Fiction

Suzan by Abdul Manaf bin Abdul Kadir
Tenggelamnya Kapal  Prince of Wales by Anuar bin Othman
Selamat Malam Caesar by Hassan Hasaa'ree Ali
Kumpulan Cerpen Armageddon by Yazid bin Hussein
Cahaya by Yazid bin Hussein
Seking by Mohd Pitchay Gani bin Mohd Abdul Aziz

Tamil Fiction

Muga Puthagamum Sila Agappakkangalum by Jayanthi Sankar
Naan by Suriya Rethnna
Vergal by Noorjehan binte Ahmadsha
Maaya by Packinisamy Panneerselvam
Oru Kodi Dollargal by Krishnamurthi Mathangi
Moontraavatu Kai by Mohamed Kassim Shanavas

English Poetry

Cordelia by Grace Chia
The Viewing Party by Yong Shu Hoong
Circle Line by Theophilus Kwek
Tender Delirium by Tania De Rozario
Sonnets from the Singlish by Joshua Ip
The Pillow Book by Koh Jee Leong

Chinese Poetry

《你和我的故事》周德成 Chow Teck Seng
阅读蚯蚓的秘密》周粲(Chew Kok Chiang aka Zhou Can
《原始笔记》陈志锐(Tan Chee Lay
《夜未央》华英(Wang Mun Kiat aka Hua Ying
《心闲牵风》华萍(Hua Ping

Malay Poetry

Genta Cinta by Peter Augustine Goh
Aisberg Kesimpulan by Ahmad Md Tahir
Pasar Diri by Johar Buang
Suara Dalam by Hamed bin Ismail
nota (buat wangsa dan buanaku) by Yazid bin Hussein

Tamil Poetry

Malaigalin Parathal by Krishnamurthi Mathangi
Kaanaamal Pona Kavithaikal by Samuvel Nepolian Devakumar
Thagam by Chinnadurai Arumugam 
Thoorikai Sirpangal by Pichinikkadu Elango
Urakkach Cholvaen by Swaminathan Amirthalingam 

English Non-Fiction

The shortlist will be announced in October.

Chinese Non-Fiction

《医生读史笔记》何乃强 Dr Ho Nai Kiong
释放快乐》尤今(Tham Yew Chin aka You Jin
《父亲平藩的一生》何乃强(Dr Ho Nai Kiong
《心也飞翔》尤今(Tham Yew Chin aka You Jin

Malay Non-Fiction

No shortlist.  The winner to be declared at the award ceremony.

Tamil Non-Fiction

The shortlist will be announced in October.

The winning title in each category will be eligible for a cash prize of up to Sing$ 10,000. The award ceremony will take place in November.